KONP.com Home

Additional ballots counted Wednesday, no changes in local races

August 8th, 2012 - 5:58pm

(Port Angeles) -- No major changes in primary election results for Clallam County after an additional 35-hundred ballots were tabulated Wednesday afternoon.

Civic Field bond

The Port Angeles Civic Field capital improvement measure is still short of the necessary 60 percent supermajority with 55-and-a-half percent yes votes.


General Obligation Civic Field Improvement Bond

APPROVED 2,047 55.55%

REJECTED 1,638 44.45%

Total Votes 3,685 100%

Requires 60 percent supermajority for passage

Sequim sales tax measure

The Sequim measure for a point-one-percent public safety sales tax is still headed for passage with slightly fewer than 60 percent yes votes -- well above the simple majority needed. If passed, dollars collected would support a new police station in Sequim.


Public Safety Sales Tax

Yes 953 59.94%

No 637 40.06%

Total Votes 1,590 100%

Requires simple majority for passage.

County Commissioner District 2

Incumbent Mike Chapman and Republican challenger Maggie Roth are the two top vote-getters in the primary race for Commissioner District 2.

Chapman has more than 39 percent, Roth tallied almost 26 percent, Dale Holiday has 16 percent, Patti Morris around 12 percent and Sandy Long received less than 7 percent.

The top two vote-getters advance to the general election.

Commissioner Dist. No. 2

Mike Chapman 1,938 39.18%

Maggie Roth 1,279 25.85%

Dale Holiday 801 16.19%

Patti Morris 590 11.93%

Sandy Long 339 6.85%

Total Votes 4,947 100%

Clallam Superior Court Judge Position 1

Erik Rohrer and Chris Melly lead the way in the primary for the Clallam County Superior Court Judge.

Rohrer has received almost 36 percent while Melly has 24-point-2 percent.

William Payne has more than 20 percent and Curtis Johnson has 19-and-a-half percent.

The top 2 vote-getters advance to the general election in November.

Clallam Superior Court Judge Position 1

Erik Rohrer 4,651 35.9%

Christopher Melly 3,137 24.21%

William Payne 2,635 20.34%

Curtis Johnson 2,532 19.54%

Total Votes 12,955 100%

24th District Legislative seats

A pair of incumbents lead primary races for Peninsula seats in the state Legislature.

Incumbent Senator Jim Hargrove leads independent challenger Larry Carter with nearly two-thirds of the votes.

Incumbent Representative Steve Tharinger leads Republican Steve Gale with 58-and-a-half percent of the district wide vote.

All 4 candidates move on to the general election in November.

Legislative District 24 - State Senator

Jim Hargrove 18,420 65.87%

Larry Carter 9,543 34.13%

Total Votes 27,963 100%

Legislative District 24 - Representative Pos. 1

Kevin Van De Wege 20,162 100%

Total Votes 20,162 100%

Legislative District 24 - Representative Pos. 2

Steve Tharinger 16,691 58.53%

Steve Gale 11,825 41.47%

Total Votes 28,516 100%

All candidates advance to general election

Sixth District Congressional race

A Port Angeles native leads the primary race to replace longtime Congressman Norm Dicks.

Derek Kilmer has 54 percent of the Sixth District vote.

Bill Driscoll was the Kilmer's nearest challenger with about 18 percent.

Kilmer and Driscoll advance to the November election.

Congressional District 6

Derek Kilmer 61,043 54.08%

Bill Driscoll 20,516 18.17%

Jesse Young 12,030 10.66%

Doug Cloud 9,986 8.85%

David (Ike) Eichner 5,362 4.75%

Eric G. Arentz Jr. 2 ,925 2.59%

Stephan Andrew Brodhead 1,019 0.9%

Total Votes 112,881 100%

Ballot tally at 34 percent, next count Thursday or Friday

Tallies from nearly 34 percent of the registered voters in Clallam County have now been tabulated -- 15-thousand-585.

More than 4-thousand ballots remain to be counted at the courthouse with the next tabulation scheduled Thursday afternoon or Friday morning.

The election is set to be certified on August 21st.

Email This Story



Affinity Web Solutions
KONP.com Home