KONP.com Home

DISTRICT BOYS HOOPS: Sequim 48, Franklin Pierce 42

February 15th, 2013 - 8:06pm

(Lakewood) -- The Sequim High Wolves boys basketball team is heading for the regionals next week after coming from behind to take a thrilling 48-42 win against the Franklin Pierce Cardinals Friday night at Lakes High School.

The Wolves will play in the district semifinals Saturday night at Foss High in Tacoma against Sumner, a 55-53 winner over Renton Friday night.

KONP broadcast time will be at 7:40 with the tipoff at 8 p.m.

Sequim improved to 19-3 on the season after winning its 12th straight game.

The first period ended in a 6-6 deadlock.

Sequim forged ahead 17-9 on an 8-0 run, but Franklin Pierce surged back to the lead with a 9-0 streak of its own at 18-17.

The Wolves led 24-23 at intermission.

The game appeared to be slipping away from Sequim in the third quarter as the Cardinals outscored the Wolves 14-8.

Isaiah Sutherland-Ballard, the Cardinals team-high scorer with 13, hit a 35-foot bank shot from the right sideline after a steal that beat the third quarter buzzer, putting Pierce ahead by 5 going to the final period - 37-32.

Sequim switched up positioning on the press break and started to burn the Cardinals with Erik Christensen's layup putting the Wolves ahead 40-39 with 4:13 remaining.

The Wolves held the Cardinals to just 5 fourth quarter points and connected on 8 of 11 free throws down the stretch.

Jayson Brocklesby led the Wolves with 20 points and 11 rebounds. Anthony Pinza had 10 points, 5 rebounds and 2 assists.

Gabe Carter had 7 points, 10 rebounds, 8 assists and 2 steals.

Sequim had 15 team assists and 15 turnovers.

Jesus Felix paced Franklin Pierce with 11 points with 3 treys, while Michael Dupree had 7 markers.

Scoring by Quarters:

Seq - 06 18 08 16 - 48

F.P.- 06 17 14 05 - 42

Scoring Summary:

Sequim (48) -- Anthony Pinza 10, Alex Barry 3, Rory Kallappa 4, Jayson Brocklesby 20, Tim Guan, Erik Christensen 2, Gabe Carter 7, Andrew Shimer 2.

Franklin Pierce (42) -- Jesus Felix 11, Ryan Sandoval 2, Isaiah Sutherland-Ballard 13, Douglas Shumaker 1, Savon Miles 4, Makkai Griffin 2, Brett Carter, Michael Dupree 7, Edward Jones 2.

Email This Story



Affinity Web Solutions
KONP.com Home