KONP.com Home

Change ups on last day of local election filing

May 17th, 2013 - 5:02pm

(Port Angeles) -- A couple of new candidates filed on the last day of filing for local elected offices.

And two candidates who filed, earlier in the work had to refile for different positions. Another dropped out all together.

Heather Jeffers originally filed for an OMC board position which didn't match her address. Friday, she refiled for the position that covers her part of the hospital district. Also filing for position two was incumbent Jean Hordyk. Bill Hannan filed for the position earlier in the week, so there is now an August primary for the position.

There will be a primary for a spot on the Port Angeles School Board. David Tietz filed Friday to run against Debbies Fuson and incumbent Sarah Methner.

What once was a primary for a spot on the Sequim School Board now has just one candidate. John Clark Yeo changed from Sequim School Board District 2 to the at-large position and Craig Stevenson withdrew on Friday. That leaves Micahel Howe as the only candidate in the race.

There will be only one contested race for city council in Port Angeles. Peter Ripley and Lee Whethem will square off for the seat now held by Max Mania. Mania did not file for re-election.

Incumbents Brad Collins and Pat Downie will run uncontested for re-election. No one filed to run against Dan Gase, so he will run unopposed to take over the seat now held by Brooke Nelson.

one contested race for city council. Incumbent Ted Miller will face Brandon Janisse. Genaveve Starr and Dennis Smith will run unopposed.

There will also be a primary for Port of Port Angeles commissioner and a seat on the Fire District Three board.

Email This Story



Affinity Web Solutions
KONP.com Home